Kell Hall: Capturing the Legacy is a collaboration between Georgia State University Library and the Student Innovation Fellowship to digitally preserve the histories, aesthetics, and experiences of Kell Hall to commemorate its place in the history of Georgia State University.

In 1945, the Georgia Evening College purchased the Bolling Jones Building, a parking garage and office building on Ivy Street in downtown Atlanta. Because the school had outgrown its previous home, Director George M. Sparks had found a large, centrally-located space to serve the expanding number of day and night school students, including veterans returning from World War II.

Originally built in 1925 as one of the first parking garages in the city, the Ivy Street Garage was renovated and opened to students in 1946. Since then, the building has served as a centerpiece in the downtown campus. In 1964, it was renamed Kell Hall to honor Wayne S. Kell, the original director of the school. Although the extensively-modified Kell Hall no longer suits the needs of a modern university, its legacy is worth preserving.

The project involves:

  • scanning the interior and exterior of the building to capture its unique design and original construction as a parking garage
  • collecting photographs and documents about Kell Hall’s history
  • collecting unique artifacts from Kell Hall dating from the 1940s to the present that represent the physical space and activities in the building
  • interviewing faculty, students, and alumni about their experiences and memories of Kell Hall
  • writing topical exhibits about different aspects of Kell Hall through the years

PROJECT Team

Saif Ali

Physics

John Horhn

History

Blake Lowe

Film & Media

Jes Moss

Anthropology

Chanan Myers

Printmaking

Sophia Queen

History

PROJECT Management

Spencer Roberts

Program Co-Director